Author Topic: Flixel tilemap sinking  (Read 1191 times)

flippinmental

• View Profile
Flixel tilemap sinking
« on: Fri, May 13, 2011 »
Firstly;

Hello Flixel forums!

I've been using flixel for a few months now, and decided to create a test game just to teach myself. Anyway up till now I've had very few problems at least none in which I felt the need to post on the forums. I've searched and I can't find any problem like this.

Basically all the objects I have placed on my tile map using the following code;
Code: [Select]
public function convert_map() : void
        {
            for (var i:int = 0; i < tilemap.totalTiles; i++ )
            {
                var t:int = tilemap.getTileByIndex(i);
                // Spikes tiles
                if (t == 3)
                {
                    tilemap.setTileByIndex(i, 0);
                    var spike:FlxSprite = new FlxSprite (i % tilemap.widthInTiles * 16, i / tilemap.widthInTiles * 16 -1);
                    spike.loadGraphic(img_spikes,true,false,16,16);
                    spike.immovable = true;
                    group_spikes.add(spike);
                }

All items placed like this seem to sink into the tilemap by a few pixels every 3 columns. So by the time you get to the end of the map objects have almost entirely sunk into the tilemap.

I've been basing my game off the tutorial here(http://users.wpi.edu/~bmoriarty/imgd1001/tutorials/tut4.html) and this dosnt seem to have the same problem. I've deleted large chunks of code to see whats causing it and nothing makes a difference so I really dont know whats going on.

Anyway that can help it would be awesome, as I really dont know why its doing this. It may be something really stupid and I am new to flixel so maybe I've forgotten to do something.

Oh and Im using the latest master of flixel.

http://flippinmental.deviantart.com/art/Duck-Tales-prototype-2-208678466