Author Topic: Newbie: Flash Develop + Flixel + Dame?  (Read 3880 times)

alchoris

• View Profile
Newbie: Flash Develop + Flixel + Dame?
« on: Sat, Sep 17, 2011 »
Hi everyone,

My first time both here and using FlashDevelop and Flixel. I just did some basic tutorials on these two and am starting to get the hang of how they both work.

Before I ask my problem, I thought I'd share my background a bit. I've used Javascript, C#, BASIC, tiny bit of C++ and Actionscript 2/3. I'm not a professional in any of these but I get the jist of them all. Anywhos, through a recommendation of my friend, I've decided to use Flash Develop and Flixel to develop my games instead of Game Maker 8.

Now... during one of my tutorials, it showed how to make a level for a platform game and the tutorial used a txt file using numbers to create the level. For example, 0 = nothing, 1 = brick, 2 = ramp, 3 = spikes etc.

This made me stop because this kind of level creation just hurts my brain. So I came here and saw DAME. I read about the map editor and the sticky topic on this forum and it looks really great. However, I have some questions about all this...

So I'm planning to make a pixel-art, platform adventure game like Metroid, Cave Story etc. It looks like the best way to do this is to use FlashDevelop, Flixel and Dame. Is that correct?

If so... is Dame "similar" to Game Maker 8? I mean, looking at the video demos on the website, it looks very versatile. But like... if I wanted to place an enemy in there with a certain behaviour and can interact with other objects in the level, is the process similar to Game Maker 8?

I mean, in Game Maker 8, you make a sprite and an object. You then double click the object and you put your code in there of how to move it, its interactions etc. Then all you have to do is place it in the world. What's DAME like?

Anyways, I thought I'd ask this while downloading DAME just in case someone can help me before I start playing with it.

Thanks

Alchoris

osro