Author Topic: Flixel in Flash Builder 4?  (Read 3537 times)

6cef

  • Guest
Flixel in Flash Builder 4?
« on: Thu, Jan 21, 2010 »

Relatively new to Flash game development, and had a couple of questions.

  • Will Flixel work in Flash Builder 4?
  • Are their major changes from Flex Builder 3 to Flash Builder 4 vis-a-vis game development?
  • Tried to get Mode working last night but it didn't seem to be coming together for me.  Anyone tried this successfully?


photonstorm

  • Administrator
  • Key Contributor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1502
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • Photon Storm
Re: Flixel in Flash Builder 4?
« Reply #1 on: Fri, Jan 22, 2010 »
I can't see any reason why it shouldn't work with FB4. I'm using it with the AIR 2.0 libs that are part of CS5 (Beta Drop 10), so I can access iPhone TouchEvents, and it's compiling and running perfectly.

Actually without breaching Adobe NDA all I'd really like to say is that Flixel running on the iPhone is incredibly sweet. Very fast indeed. In all honesty I think its the only way to make a decent speed game for it at the moment.
http://www.photonstorm.com



"Tell me and I will forget, show me and I might remember, involve me and I will understand" - Confucius

lithander

  • Active Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 222
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • pixelpracht
Re: Flixel in Flash Builder 4?
« Reply #2 on: Fri, Jan 22, 2010 »
I'm using FB4. What I did (I think) is to configure Flash Builder to use a release version (3.4) of the Flex SDK instead of the beta one. It's in the compiler settings.
Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication ~Leonardo Da'Vinci

photonstorm

  • Administrator
  • Key Contributor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1502
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • Photon Storm
Re: Flixel in Flash Builder 4?
« Reply #3 on: Fri, Jan 22, 2010 »
Yeah, and then you could link in the AIR2 SWC if you want to access the new APIs in there.
http://www.photonstorm.com



"Tell me and I will forget, show me and I might remember, involve me and I will understand" - Confucius

PaulGene

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • PaulGenehompson
Re: Flixel in Flash Builder 4?
« Reply #4 on: Fri, Jan 22, 2010 »
:o thats amazing news about the iphone photonstorm, what kind of fps are you getting?

zuperxtreme

  • Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Buddah
Re: Flixel in Flash Builder 4?
« Reply #5 on: Fri, Jan 22, 2010 »
It really is. :D

Maybe Adobe can learn a thing or two. ;P
..."without order nothing exists, without chaos nothing evolves"... 
Zoklet.net

photonstorm

  • Administrator
  • Key Contributor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1502
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • Photon Storm
Re: Flixel in Flash Builder 4?
« Reply #6 on: Sat, Jan 23, 2010 »
I'm getting between 20 and 24 fps. Believe me, that's good.
http://www.photonstorm.com



"Tell me and I will forget, show me and I might remember, involve me and I will understand" - Confucius

PaulGene

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • PaulGenehompson
Re: Flixel in Flash Builder 4?
« Reply #7 on: Sat, Jan 23, 2010 »
Thats not too shabby, better than i imagined anyway!

Is that with a very basic 1 layer flixel setup though?

Sorry for all the questions I'm just excited about the whole iphone thing!

photonstorm

  • Administrator
  • Key Contributor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1502
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • Photon Storm
Re: Flixel in Flash Builder 4?
« Reply #8 on: Sat, Jan 23, 2010 »
24 fps is the maximum a CS5 iPhone app can run at (this may of course change with upcoming betas)

I achieved that with one animated character moving around a 3-layer tile map (one collision layer, the other 2 were background parallax effect layers). Character was being moved with the accelerometer.
http://www.photonstorm.com



"Tell me and I will forget, show me and I might remember, involve me and I will understand" - Confucius

prettymuchbryce

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Flixel in Flash Builder 4?
« Reply #9 on: Sun, Jan 24, 2010 »
I'm using FB4. What I did (I think) is to configure Flash Builder to use a release version (3.4) of the Flex SDK instead of the beta one. It's in the compiler settings.

Hey I just registered to say that I was having problems with FB4. HelloWorld would start up and the Flixel logo would start but the text wouldn't show up. I did what you suggested here and that resolved the issue.

On an unrelated note.. when I run my project it appears in safari by default. How can I tell it to run in flash player?

lithander

  • Active Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 222
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • pixelpracht
Re: Flixel in Flash Builder 4?
« Reply #10 on: Sun, Jan 24, 2010 »
On an unrelated note.. when I run my project it appears in safari by default. How can I tell it to run in flash player?

Properties for ProjectXY -> Rune/Debug Settings -> Select your App from the list and "edit":

"URL or path to launch" should point to the *.swf directly and not to the html wrapper.
Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication ~Leonardo Da'Vinci

werem

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Flixel in Flash Builder 4?
« Reply #11 on: Thu, Jun 3, 2010 »
Anyone can give more details about how to migrate my flixel project in flex builder 4(actionscript project) to an AIR project?

Thanks!